[Congrès] Open Windows on Lyric

« Open Windows on Lyric »

3e congrès international de l’INSL (International Network for the Study of Lyric)

16-18 juin 2021

KU Leuven (B), par visio-conférence (zoom)

Open Windows on Lyric
3rd ISNL Worldwide Conference
June 16-18, 2021
Hosted on Zoom by KU Leuven (B)


After two congresses in Boston (2017) and then Lausanne (2019), the International Network for the Study of Lyric (INSL) announces its Third International Biennial Meeting to be held on Zoom over three consecutive days, with a three-hour session on each day. Instead of a specific theme, the Executive Committee has opted to focus on three topics tailored to our current moment, each of which aims to reshape traditional approaches to lyric: 1. Between Criticism and Creation; 2. Digital Lyric; 3. Global Lyric.

Each day of the congress will have two parts: a plenary session followed by two panels of invited distinguished speakers.
Although discussion will take place primarily in English, INSL is also hosting panels in Spanish and French.


JUNE 16, 2021 – DAY 1
BETWEEN CRITICISM AND CREATIVE WRITING

From 4 pm to 6 pm (CEST, KU Leuven Time)
From 10 am to 12 pm (EDT)


Today, in different countries and languages, the writing of poetry takes place in universities as well as centres of art. Not only may poets be teaching professors and teaching professors poets, but more broadly universities intervene directly in initiatives that foster relationships between creative writing and criticism, such as literary reviews, creative writing workshops, festivals, and digital platforms. The distribution of roles no longer proceeds according to a strict boundary between creativity and theory; theorists themselves seek to include creative work at the heart of their thinking and teaching. How do current practices in and out of the academy allow us to understand contemporary poetry? How may literary criticism invest in creative writing without compromising its expertise? In what way are
academic specialists today promoting, even inciting the creation of lyric poetry?

4 pm (CEST, KU Leuven Time)
10 am (EDT)
Zoom link:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88435279029?pwd=U0RTQ0h5VmJ1N25LZ3Q2QWtxN1o0QT09
Passcode: 732840
Welcome, introduction of the topic
Antonio RODRIGUEZ (U. of Lausanne, president of INSL)
Heather DUBROW (Fordham U., vice-president of INSL)
Jan BAETENS (KU Leuven, Board member of INSL)4:15 pm (CEST)
10:15 am (EDT)
Plenary
Stephanie BURT (Harvard U.)
How Is a Poem– No, a Lyric Poem– Like a Comic Book? Why Should We Care?
Moderator: Heather Dubrow (Fordham U.)
5:15 pm (CEST)
11:15 am (EDT)
Panel 1 Literary Critics and/or Creative Writers: Reinventions and Reinterpretations
4 position papers – in English. Moderator: Heather Dubrow (Fordham U.)
Vincent BROQUA (U. Paris 8)
Douglas GREEN (Augsburg College)
Kimberly JOHNSON (Brigham Young U.)
Yuyutsu SHARMA (Ind, Columbia U.)

5:15 pm (CEST)
11:15 am (EDT)
Zoom link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82039667952?pwd=a3RYRHVwbmZ0RnJJbll6RjJLQ1kyQT09
Passcode: 482463
Panel 2 – Inside Out/Outside In (Poètes et dispositifs poétiques dans les réseaux d’éducation)
4 position papers – in French. Moderator: Antonio Rodriguez (U. Lausanne)
Denise BRASSARD (UQAM-CA)
Serge MARTIN & Serge RITMAN (U. Sorbonne-Nouvelle, Paris 3)
Magali NACHTERGAEL (U. Bordeaux 3)
Jean-Claude PINSON (U. Nantes)

JUNE 17, 2021 – DAY 2
DIGITAL LYRIC
From 4 pm to 6 pm (CEST, KU Leuven Time)
From 10 am to 12 pm (EDT)
Transformations in digital practice directly affect lyric writing and the research that it stimulates even more strongly than the novel, a genre which is still largely associated with the material book industry. Among many innovative developments in recent years we find on the one hand a rapidly burgeoning creativity involving multimedia works that trouble the status of the ‘poet’, and on the other many new sites and platforms, new repertories, and new versions of poetic archives. What are the digital challenges that present themselves now at the beginning of a new decade, particularly when the pandemic has forced current practices to change even more quickly?

4 pm (CEST)
10 am (EDT)
Zoom link:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88435279029?pwd=U0RTQ0h5VmJ1N25LZ3Q2QWtxN1o0QT09
Passcode: 732840
Welcome, introduction of the topic
Jan Baetens (KU Leuven) & Hans Kristian Rustad (U. Oslo, secretary of INSL)
4:10 pm (CEST)
10:10 am (EDT)
Plenary
Bertrand Gervais (UQAM, CA), A Literature of Exhaustion? Thoroughness as an Aesthetic Drive in
Digital Culture
Moderator: Jan Baetens (KU Leuven)
5 pm (CEST)
11:00 am (EDT)
Panel 3 – Lyric in the Digital Era
3 position papers – in English. Moderator: Hans Kristian Rustad (U. Oslo, secretary of INSL)
Johannes Heldén (Ind)
Anne Karhio (NUI Galway)
Wiebke Vorrath (U. Hamburg)

5 pm (CEST)
11:00 am (EDT)
Zoom link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82039667952?pwd=a3RYRHVwbmZ0RnJJbll6RjJLQ1kyQT09
Passcode: 482463
Panel 4 – Lyric and Tech: after the pandemic, a new digital horizon?
3 position papers – in Spanish. Moderator: Gustavo Guerrero (U. Paris-Cergy) Claudia Kozak (U. Buenos Aires)
Vega Sánchez-Aparicio (U. Salamanca)
Vicente Luis Mora (Ind, U. La Rioja)

6 pm (CEST)
12:00 pm (EDT)
General Assembly of INSL Association
Zoom link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82039667952?pwd=a3RYRHVwbmZ0RnJJbll6RjJLQ1kyQT09

JUNE 18, 2021 – DAY 3
GLOBAL LYRIC

From 4 pm to 6 pm (CEST, KU Leuven Time)
From 10 am to 12 pm (EDT)

Whether in terms of geography or history, studies of lyric have always valued the contextualisation of lyric poetry in time and space. But how are we to understand different bodies of lyric according to such diverse scales as the long past, the contemporary, periodization, the local, regional, national, or global? This Day interrogates the possibilities of connection or divergence between various national, transnational and multicultural perspectives.
4 pm (CEST)
10 am (EDT)
Zoom link:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88435279029?pwd=U0RTQ0h5VmJ1N25LZ3Q2QWtxN1o0QT09
Passcode: 732840
Welcome, introduction of the topic
Ralph Mueller (U. Freiburg-CH, Board Member of INSL)
4:05 pm (CEST)
10:05 am (EDT)
Plenary
Defamiliarizing Lyric: Eras and Worlds
A discussion between Ardis Butterfield (Yale U., Board Member of INSL), Steve Owen (Harvard U.)
and Anthony Reed (Vanderbilt U.)

5:15 pm (CEST)
11:15 am (EDT)
Panel 5 – Lyric Geographies
4 position papers – in English. Moderator: William Waters (Boston U., Board member of INSL)
Rebecca Gould (U. Birmingham)
Jack Chen (U. Virginia)
Almut Suerbaum (U. Oxford)
J. Keith Vincent (Boston U.)

5:15 pm (CEST)
11:15 am (EDT)
NEW Zoom link:  https://yale.zoom.us/j/91500478223 Meeting ID: 915 0047 8223
Panel 6 – Lyric Histories
4 position papers – in English. Moderator: Ardis Butterfield (Yale)
Patricia Rosenmeyer (U. North Carolina)
Susanna Fein (Kent State U.)
Danila Sokolov (U. Iceland)
Tessie Prakas (Scripps College)


6:30 pm (CEST) 12:30 pm (EDT)
General Conclusion

Lien vers l’INSL : http://lyricology.org/


Vous aimerez aussi...

Rechercher dans OpenEdition Search

Vous allez être redirigé vers OpenEdition Search